The New

Posted: December 31, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

I have plenty of my own words but not the time at the moment to relay them. Instead, I’ll close out the year with this quotation from Robert Pirsig’s Lila; I find it very relevant as I look forward.

“If you want to drink new tea you have to get rid of the old tea that’s in your cup, otherwise your cup just overflows and you get a wet mess. Your head is like that cup. It has a limited capacity and if you want to learn something about the world you should keep your head empty in order to learn it. It’s very easy to spend your whole life swishing old tea around in your cup thinking it’s great stuff because you’ve never really tried anything new, because you could never get it in, because the old stuff prevented its entry because you were so sure the old stuff was so good, because you never really tried anything new….”

Comments
  1. Walker says:

    Reminds me of the “don’t put new wine in old wineskins” line. Not that I remember exactly what that means, lol.

    Also makes me think of Interpol: http://youtu.be/tSnz8yaAFHg

Leave a Reply

